The International Society for Folk Narrative Research

The International Society for Folk Narrative Research is a scholarly and professional organization of international specialists in the areas of folk narrative, popular literature, folklore, and related fields. According to its statutes, the Society’s main goal is “to develop scholarly work in the field of folk narrative research and to stimulate contacts and the exchange of views among its members.” Acknowledging developments in the field, this goal has broadened in recent years covering all aspects of narrative as representing the pivotal category of human communication.

The idea of the ISFNR emerged during the first international congress of folk-narrative scholars in Kiel and Copenhagen in 1959, and the Society’s official foundation took place during the meeting in Antwerp (Belgium) in 1962. Since then the Society has convened for congresses and interim conferences, most recently in London in 2022.

Following founding president Kurt Ranke (1962–1974), professors Lauri Honko (1974–1989), Reimund Kvideland (1989–1998), Galit Hasan-Rokem (1998–2005), Ülo Valk (2005–2009) and Ulrich Marzolph (2009-2016) have presided over the ISFNR. In 2016, the Society elected Prof. (Dr.) Sadhana Naithani of Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India, as its current president.

The Society is proud of its truly international membership which includes some 700 members from about 80 different countries.