Minutes of the General Assembly of the ISFNR: 19th Congress of the ISFNR: June 20th, 2024, Riga.

General Assembly Chaired by President Sadhana Naithani

1. Those members who have passed away since the last Congress were honored: *One minute's silence* was observed for Rolf Wilhelm Brednich, Heda Jason, Dan Ben Amos, Haya Bar-Itzhak and Tamar Alexander.

PART I – Reports

1. Treasurer's Report

A printed document was circulated and projected on screen, and explained by the Treasurer, Ave Goršič.

2. President's Report:

The Hosts of the I9th Congress were thanked; and the outgoing president thanked members for having been given the opportunity to serve the Society. Thanks were also given on behalf of the Executive Committee to the organisers of the 2021 Congress that had to take place online.

Information was given about the process and status of registration of the Society in Tartu, Estonia, the financial implications of this, and the importance of transparency in the functioning of the Society. The group in Tartu will work under the supervision of the elected EC.

Information was given on the initiation and development of the ISFNR On-Line Lecture Series which has now been running for two years. The same technical facilities used for these lectures have also been given to the Belief Narrative Network for their monthly lectures. The aim is that these on-line lectures (also available via the web site) provide a knowledge database for both scholars and the general public.

A brief report was given about the interim meeting that took place in London in 2022, and thanks were expressed to the Executive Committee member Andrew Teverson for organizing this.

Information was also given about the development of the ISFNR newsletter (now to be edited by Triin Laidoner) and its management.

The development of the new website was reported, and explained by the Website Manager Tony Saarinen.

It was noted that Executive Committee now meets every three months.

Information was also given on the number of new members (48 since the last congress), and the fact that the process of membership application has now been simplified.

- 3. Report from the BNN Committee
- 4. Report from the CHCHCH Committee
- 5. Report from the FNLM Committee

6. With regard to the Ethics Committee: The new Executive Committee will decide on how to reconstitute the Ethics Committee and the Internet Committee

PART II – Matters Voted On

7. Invitations for the interim conference and next Congress

- a. Interim Meeting in 2026: Invitation to the University of Iceland, Reykjavík by Kristinn Schram, Dagrún Jónsdóttir and Rósa Þorsteinsdóttir.
 Voted for unanimously.
- b. 20th ISFNR Congress in 2028: Invitation to the University of Aberdeen (Elphinstone Institute) by Nicholas Le Bigre.
 Voted for unanimously.

8. Suggestions for new honorary members from the Executive Committee: Ulrich Marzolph, Margaret Mills, Bengt af Klintberg, Ulf Palmenfelt. Voted for unanimously.

9. Suggestion that the Executive Committee should also include a junior/ young scholar who is either in the advanced stages of their PhD or has completed their PhD within last the 2-3 years. They should be nominated by Executive Committee and have the role of observer (without voting rights) for 2 years (until the next interim conference/congress). This means that the overall structure of the Executive Committee (as defined in the Statutes) does not change. It was suggested by a member that the name of this category should be decided after consideration. Suggestion Accepted.

The Executive Committee's proposal that Malay Bera be nominated as the first person to hold this position: Voted for unanimously.

10. Vacancies in the Executive Committee and Executive Committee proposals:

VP for North America: Anne Duggan. Voted for unanimously.

VP Africa: No proposals.

EC Member (responsible for the ISFNR Lectures): Lina Būgienė. Voted for unanimously. VP Europe: Sandis Laime. Voted for unanimously.

President: Mirjam Mencej. Voted for unanimously.

11. The New President addressed the members briefly.

12. Vote of Thanks delivered by Andrew Teverson.