General Assembly of the ISFNR

October 21, 2016, Miami, Florida Meeting began at 4:15 pm

Attending

55 members of the ISFNR (see list of participants, attachment 1) including the members of the Executive Board (EC): Cristina Bacchilega (Hawaii, USA), Chair of the Membership Committee Donald Haase (Detroit, USA), Vice-President representing North-America Lauri Harvilahti (Helsinki, Finland), Vice-President representing Europe Ulrich Marzolph (Göttingen, Germany), President Sadhana Naithani (New Delhi, India), member Maria Ines Palleiro (Buenos Aires, Argentina), Vice-President representing Latin-America Pihla Siim (Tartu, Estonia), Treasurer Ülo Valk (Tartu, Estonia), Chair of the Vice-Presidents

Agenda

Remembering Deceased members of the ISFNR since the Congress in Vilnius 2013

Bo Gunnar Almqvist	1931–2013
Samuel G. Armistead	1927–2013
Issachar Ben-Ami	1933–2015
Martha Blache	1933–2016 (honorary member 2009)
Barbara A. Babcock	1943–2016
Linda Dégh	1920–2014 (honorary member 1995)
Bill Nicolaisen	1927–2016 (honorary member 1995)
Dov Noy	1920–2013 (honorary member 1995)
Veera Pino	1925–2015
Anna-Leena Siikala	1943–2016 (honorary member 2005)
Ülo Tedre	1928–2015

1.1 Reports activities of ISFNR 2013–2016 including committees:

ISFNR Interim Conference was held in Ankara, 1-6 September 2015

Committee for Folktales and the Internet: Theo Meder (Amsterdam, Netherlands) introduced the theme issue of the Journal of American Folklore (Issue 129, 2016). The Committee had a small gathering in Dublin with members of SIEF working group on Archives. Two Conferences were organized and the Dutch Folktale Database was improved. Future plans include the development of Intelligent Search Engine for Belief Legends.

Committee on Charms, Charmers, and Charming: Jonathan Roper (Tartu, Estonia) introduced activities. Meetings have been held in Leeds 2014, Pécs 2015, Cork, Ireland 2016. Future plans include a dedicated conference in Budapest (2017). Section of website maintained, with International Annotated Charms Bibliography etc. Journal *Incantatio* has been maintained.

Belief Narrative Network (BNN): Miriam Mencej (Ljubljana, Slovenia) reported about the activities of BNN. 11 new members were elected at Vilnius (2013). Bela Mosia organized the BNN conference in Zugdidi, Georgia in 2014. In 2014 Eva Pócs organized an international conference in Pécs, Hungary. BNN symposium was held at the ISFNR Interim Congress in Ankara (2015). At ISFNR/AFS meeting (Miami) BNN has symposium with 8 panels. Future BNN conference to be held in Budapest, Hungary. Another conference is planned. Publication by Bela Mosia forthcoming. Section of the ISFNR website has been kept up to date. BNN has 90 members.

The Ethics Committee of the ISFNR: No report owing to the nature of the committee itself. No complaints. (UM)

1.2 Report of the treasurer (Pihla Siim, Tartu, Estonia):

Current holdings of the ISFNR 7767,99 \in (Estonian savings account on the name of PS) Biggest expenses (2013–2016): Reception at the AFS/ISFNR joint meeting in Miami 5000 \in , travel grants $3250 + 1500 \in$ Collected membership dues: 13 667,41 \in and 30 USD Details: see attachment 2

1.3 Membership Issues, fees, honorary members

Cristina Bacchilega (Hawaii, USA): Since Vilnius Conference 56 new members joined, no change in membership fees. Total number of members (with no pending membership fees) is now 160. Request for list of "name, email address and country" of current members and the related ethical concerns were voiced.

Two new honorary members are elected: Wolfgang Mieder and Sigrid Schmidt. Galit Hasan-Rokem asked about the possibility of the proposing honorary members from the floor. President Marzolph asked to exercise the right of discretion of the president on this occasion.

Statues change in article 5 on membership issues. In accordance with ISFNR statutes (#17), the executive committee of the ISFNR suggested the following change to #5 having to do with membership applications. Instead of the present wording "Requests for membership, supported by two members, shall be examined and decided on by the Membership Committee" the members of the ISFNR board unanimously recommend the following

wording: "Requests for membership shall be examined and decided on by the Membership Committee and the ISFNR board/general committee." GA voted for the change; two abstentions put forward. The suggestion that the ISFNR should work on gender neutral language was also put forward.

1.4 The ISFNR Journals: Fabula, Narrative Culture:

Carl Lindahl reports on *Fabula*. *Encyclopädie des Märchens* was completed in 2015, changes in editorship, two academic affiliations with the Journal were mentioned. New editorial board, academic advisors etc. were highlighted. Special Issues of the Journal were highlighted.

Ulrich Marzolph reports on *Narrative Culture*, which is edited by Regina Bendix and Ulrich Marzolph. Members of the editorial board were named. Four issues have been published so far. Published by Wayne State University Press. Scope of journal explained.

1.5 Next congress/conference

An invitation to hold an interim conference in University of Ragusa, Sicily on "Folk Narrative in Regions of Cultural Exchange" in 2018, the dates are to be decided later on. Additionally, University of Zagreb offers to host 18th ISFNR congress in 2020 (suggested time: in the end of June). The topic proposed is "Emotion and Affect in Folk Narrative and Folklife". The invitations are accepted by GA.

2. Elections

Lauri Harvilahti, Christiana Bacchilega, and Donald Haase step down from the EC. Ulrich Marzolph steps down as president. Galit Hasan-Rokem (Jerusalem, Israel) is invited to guide the GA through the election process.

The GA elected Sadhana Naithani (New Delhi, India) as the new president of the society.

Sinseignon Germain Sagbo (Benin) was elected as the new Vice President representing Africa.

Vice President representing Europe – Two candidates were nominated: Renata Jambresic Kirin (Zagreb, Croatia) and Francisco Vaz da Silva (Lisboa, Portugal). No. of votes for Renata: 25. No. of votes for Franceso: 18. Abstentions: 4. Renata Jambresic Kirin was elected as the new Vice President representing Europe.

Vice-President representing North America – Two candidates were nominated: Kim Lau (UC Santa Cruz) and Anne Duggan (Wayne State University, Detroit). No. of votes for Kim: 32. No. of votes for Anne: 7. Abstentions: 9. Kim Lau was elected as the new Vice-President representing North America.

Members of the Executive Committee. Candidates: JoAnn Conrad (Berkeley, USA), Frog (Helsinki, Finland) and Mirjam Mencej (Ljubljana, Slovenia). No. of votes for JoAnn

Conrad: 25. No. of votes for Frog: 34. No. of votes for Mirjam Mencej: 40. Abstentions: 2. Mirjam Mencej and Frog were elected as the new members of the Executive Committee.

Continuing members of EC approved by the GA: Ülo Valk, member of the Executive Committee; Maria Ines Palleiro, Vice-President representing Latin America; Pihla Siim, Treasurer; Mehri Bagheri (Tabriz, Iran), Vice-President representing Asia; Marilena Papachristophorou (Athens, Greece), member of the Executive Committee.