# Minutes taken at the General Assembly of the ISFNR on June 26, 2009 Athens, Greece

Prepared by Elo-Hanna Seljamaa (Tartu, Estonia)

The assembly was attended by 87 members of the ISFNR out of 668 members. The meeting was led by the resigning President of the ISFNR, Ülo Valk (Tartu, Estonia).

## Agenda:

- 1. Report by Secretary
- 2. Report by Treasurer
- 3. Changes in Payment of Membership Fee
- 4. Reports by Chairs of Committees
- 5. Nomination of Honorary Members
- 6. Invitations for the next congress and interim conference
- 7. Elections of the President, 2 Vice-President, 1 member of the Executive Committee, Treasurer

# 1. Report by Secretary

Elo-Hanna Seljamaa (Tartu, Estonia) gave an overview of the society's initiatives between 2005 and 2009: new logo, new web site, updating the membership list and contact addresses, ISFNR Newsletter.

#### 2. Report by Treasurer

Ulf Palmenfelt (Visby, Sweden) presented a report on society's financial situation.

#### 3. Changes in payment of membership fee

The General Assembly (GA) decided not to raise the membership fee or the frequency of collecting dues, but to postpone decisions concerning the membership fee.

# 4. Reports by chairpersons of committees

Chairpersons of special committees presented reports on the activities of their committees:

- Chair of the Membership Committee Cristina Bacchilega (Hawaii, USA) presented the names of new members accepted between 2005-2009 (60) and those accepted during the meeting in Athens (10).
- Ulrich Marzolph (Göttingen, Germany) presented a report on the Ethics Committee.

## The GA supported the establishment of three new committees:

- Committee for "Folktales and the Internet" initiated after the 2005 Tartu Congress; chairperson Theo Meder (Amsterdam, The Netherlands).
- Committee on Charms, Charmers, and Charming; chairperson Jonathan Roper (Leeds, UK).
- Belief Narratives Network initiated in Athens; chairperson Willem de Blécourt (East Sussex, UK).

# 5. Nomination of Honorary Members

The GA elected the following new honorary members of the ISFNR:

Mehri Bagheri (Tabriz, Iran)
Martha Blache (Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Rolf W. Brednich (Göttingen, Germany)
Manuel Dannemann (Santiago, Chile)
Robin Gwyndaf (Cardiff, UK)
Galit Hasan-Rokem (Jerusalem, Israel)
Stephanos Imellos (Athens, Greece)
Annikki Kaivola-Bregenhøj (Kerava, Finland)
Michael Meraklis (Athens, Greece)

# 6. Invitations for the next congress and interim conference

Lina Būgienė and Jūratė Šlekonytė from the Institute of Lithuanian Literature and Folklore presented the invitation to hold the 16<sup>th</sup> Congress of the ISFNR in Vilnius, Lithuania, in 2013.

The GA voted for this proposal.

Éva Pócs (Budapest, Hungary)

Kishore Bhattacharjee (Gauhati University, India) and Desmond Kharmawphlang (Northeastern Hill University, India) presented the invitation to hold the next interim conference in 2011 in North-East India in Guwahati and Shillong. The invitation was accepted by the General Assembly.

# 7. Elections of the President, Treasurer, Vice-President for Latin America, member of the Executive Committee, Vice-President

The GA elected an Election Committee consisting of Galit Hasan-Rokem (Jerusalem, Israel), Carl Lindahl (Houston, USA), and Robin Gwyndaf (Cardiff, UK).

The GA elected Ulrich Marzolph (Göttingen, Germany) as the new President of the society.

Marilena Papachristophorou (Athens, Greece) was elected as the new Treasurer. Maria Inés Palleiro (Buenos Aires, Argentina) was elected as the new Vice-President representing Latin America.

Ülo Valk (Tartu, Estonia) was elected as Vice-President.

Sadhana Naithani (New Delhi, India) was elected as a new member of the Executive Committee.